2020 Special event dates confirmed for Crich

As we build up to the end of the year we start to like to have a look at what we is offer for 2020 and the latest tramway to announce their special events is the Crich Tramway Village. The standard pattern of events will be taking place again with the enthusiast highlight being “Tram Day” on Saturday 19th September 2020 but there is plenty more to see and do throughout the year.

With the museum opening again on xx the first big event is the traditional Easter World War II Home Front event on Sunday 12th and Monday 13th April. A second World War II Home Front event takes place on Saturday 8th and Sunday 9th August.

Other returning events will include Beside the Seaside from Saturday 23rd to Sunday 31st May with a beach, fairground rides, Punch and Judy and much more running alongside the tram service. The early May Bank Holiday (Friday 8th to Sunday 10th May) will see the VE Day Beer and Bands event taking place and there will be a Vintage Weekend: 1950s and 1960s on Saturday 27th and Sunday 28th June.

Horse Tram Days will return again in 2020 with Joseph the horse once again popping along to haul Sheffield 15 along the tramway. These are due to take place on Wednesday 13th May, Saturday 20th June, Wednesday 8th July, Monday 10th August, Friday 14th August and Wednesday 16th September.

Models aren’t being ignored either with the main Model Tram and Railway weekend on Saturday 15th and Sunday 16th August plus regular operation of models in the Great Exhibition Hall starting off on Sunday 19th April with this date being opened up to all to bring their own models in to run on the vintage layout. Further dates for the model trams running are Sunday 17th May, Sunday 17th June, Sunday 12th July, Saturday 19th September and Sunday 11th October.

As mentioned in the introduction the big highlight for most readers of this website will be Tram Day on Saturday 19th September – the annual enthusiast event. With an intensive tram service operated the day should also see various unique photo opportunities. Although at this stage it is too early for any specifics to be announced it is sure to be another enjoyable day (its just a shame it is once again the week before Blackpool and two weeks before the Wirral Bus and Tram Show meaning three big events take place in consecutive weeks).

This is just a flavour of events taking place at Crich in 2020 and you can find all details of events on the Crich Tramway Village website. The dates will be added to our Events page in due course.

This entry was posted in Crich Tramway Village. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.